EASTERN COUNTIES BOWLING ASSOCIATION 2022 Championship Finals



President

Peter Lee

Bowls Bedfordshire

Sunday 21st May 2023

Linslade BC
Memorial Playing Fields, Mentmore Road, Leighton Buzzard LU7 2NZ

Bletchley Town BC Bowling Green Close, 48 Princess Way, Bletchley MK2 2HQ

Official Championship Programme

Secretary / Treasurer
Trevor Hackett, 1 Corriander Drive, Elsenham, Bishops Stortford Herts CM22 6DL

Championship ties to be played at Bletchley Town BC

Junior Singles championship semi-finals, Preliminary and semi-finals of the 2 wood championships

2 Wood Singles County Representatives 2022

All representatives must report to Malcolm Stark by 09.15 at Bletchley Town BC. The draw will take place at 09.30 on the day Sunday 21st May 2023. The final will be played at Linslade BC in the afternoon at 2pm.

	County	Club	Entry	Phone	E-Mail
1	Bedfordshire	Stotfold BC	Mark Amos		
2	Cambridgeshire	Newmarket Avenue BC	Alex Fussey		
3	Essex	Silver End BC	Karl Lodge		
4	Hertfordshire	Harpenden BC	Nick Muir		
5	Huntingdonshire	Brampton BC	Glyn Milbourne		
6	Norfolk	County Arts BC	Ian Groves		
7	Suffolk	Framlingham Castle BC	Alan Leeks		

	2 Wood Singles Championship Holder: M Emery Cambs & County BC				
Tie	Preliminary Matches	Score	Semi-final	Score	
1	Mark Amos	15	Mark Amos	9	
	Alan Weeks	8			
2			Alex Fussey	15	
3	Nick Muir	14	Nick Muir	15	
	Karl Lodge	11			
4			Glyn Milbourne	11	
	Bye				

	Singles Championship	
	Holder: E Morris Essex County BC Essex	
Rink	Players are requested to report to Malcolm Stark at Bletchley Town BC by 10.15 am.	Score
	Ed Morris	21
	Essex	
	Simon Law	12
	Huntingdonshire	
	Aaron Johnson	Not
	Norfolk	Playing
	Mark Betts	W/O
	Suffolk	

	Junior Singles Championship Holder: J Larter County Arts BC Norfolk		
Rink	Players are requested to report to Malcolm Stark at Bletchley Town BC by 10.15	Score	
	am.		
	Owen Harker	6	
	Bedfordshire		
	Toby Furzeland	21	
	Huntingdonshire		
	Eddie Addison	14	
	Suffolk		
	Dan Mills	21	
	Norfolk		

Championship Ties to be played at Linslade BC

	Pairs Championship		
Dist	Holder: R Hammond & A Manning Sharnbrook BC Bedfordshire	0	
Rink	Players are requested to report to Trevor Hackett at Linslade BC by 09.15	Score	
2	Mark Royal / Mark Euston	25	
	Suffolk		
2	Adrian Charter / C Kilford	12	
	Hertfordshire		
3	Chris Muir / Andy Swann	21	
	Essex		
3	Andrew Manning	15	
	Bedfordshire		

	Pairs Championship Final		
Rink	Time 14.00	Score	
4	Mark Royal / Mark Euston Suffolk	15	
4	Chris Muir / Andy Swann Essex	21	

	Triples Championship Holder: P Jackson, B Beamish, A Drummond Borough of Eye BC Suffolk		
Rink	Players are requested to report to Trevor Hackett at Linslade BC by 09.15	Score	
4	Jamie Stewart	Not	
	Cambridgeshire	Playing	
4	Glenn Williams	W/O	
	Hertfordshire		
5	Roly Barker	Not	
	Bedfordshire	Playing	
5	Shaun Cook	W/O	
	Suffolk		

	Triples Championship Final		
Rink	Time 14.00	Score	
3	Glenn Williams / Scott Lepley / J RUmball Hertfordshire	15	
3	Shaun Cook / M Cole / R Claxton Suffolk	16	

	Fours Championship Holder: G Batley, G Oakley, J Ottaway, P Roseblade Wymondham Dell BC Norfolk		
Rink	Players are requested to report to Trevor Hackett at Linslade BC by 09.15	Score	
1	David Brown	19	
	Suffolk		
1	Mark Plume	10	
	Herts		
6	Nigel Smith	22	
	Essex		
6	Scott Walton	14	
	Cambridgeshire		

	Fours Championship Final		
Rink	Time 14.00	Score	
2	A Riches / A Pulford / P Bugg / Dan Brown Suffolk	19	
2	Steve Mitchison / Jack Butcher / Ray Bone / Mark Nullmeyers Essex	14	

	Bedford Cup Final		
Rink	Time 14.00	Score	
6	Lead: John Tully Skip: Dave King Essex	24	
6	Lead: John Loudon Skip: Don Fox Hertfordshire	11	

	2 Wood Championship Final			
Rink	Time 14.00 Marker:	Score		
5	Nick Muir Hertfordshire	14		
5	Alex Fussey Cambridgeshire	11		

Junior Singles Championship Final							
Rink		Time	15.00	Marker:	Score		
5	Toby Furzeland Huntingdonshire				16		
5	Dan Mills Norfolk				23		

	Singles Championship Final						
Rink	T	me 14.00	Marker:	Score			
1	Ed Morris Essex			21			
1	Mark Betts Suffolk			10			

Eastern Counties League Winners 2022					
League Champions (Holders Suffolk)	Essex				
Executive Officers Rink Champions (Holders Cambridgeshire)	Hertfordshire				

The prize presentation will follow the completion of the Championship finals.

The Eastern Counties Bowling Association would like to thank the President and members of Bletchley Town BC for enabling the Association to complete the semi-finals

We are also indebted to the President and members of Linslade BC for the use of their excellent facilities throughout the day

I would like to express my thanks to the umpires. We also extend our thanks to the Markers

Eastern Counties Bowling Association President's Championship Message



Gentlemen

Congratulations to you all for reaching the Championship Finals. Please enjoy your day and I look forward to watching a superb day's bowling.

We are indebted to Bletchley Town BC and my own Linslade BC, who have kindly offered us the use of their facilities today, and I hope you will enjoy your bowling at these two clubs. I must also thank the umpires and markers for giving us of their time together with the greenkeepers and catering teams of both clubs.

It has been good to get back to a reasonably full season of bowing again after the difficulties that we have all faced in the previous two years. The highly successful Commonwealth Games at Leamington meant that we were unable to fulfil our normal Eastern Counties Finals date and the ECBA Executive have tried something different with the May date that we are playing the Finals on this year. Congratulations must go to Essex on winning the Eastern Counties League while Hertfordshire won the Officers Cup

It has been a great honour that Bedfordshire nominated me to be the Eastern Counties President in 2022, a highlight of my long career in bowls. We had a highly successful Bedford Cup at my club Linslade, who also hosted the fixture between the ECBA and Bedfordshire. Bowls Bedfordshire were led by another Linslade member, Bedfordshire President, Rod Garrett. Many thanks to the club for their support.

I have been grateful for the support of the members from the seven counties who have played in our programme of friendly matches.

Lastly, but very much not least, I must thank Trevor Hackett for his unwavering support and his sterling efforts on the Association's behalf. He has kept me informed and advised throughout my term in office and has made things easy for me; his help has been invaluable. I congratulate Trevor on becoming Deputy President for 2023.

I hope my successor in office, Richard Peyton of Cambridgeshire, will enjoy his spell as your President and that you will give him the same support as you have given me.

My very best wishes to you all.

Peter

Peter Lee President 2022